A Special Committee of Parliament, appointed to study a recommendation for the establishment of national laboratories, endorsed the proposal and the Research Council Act was revised by Parliament in 1924. Temporary laboratories were secured and research on the utilization of magnesian limestones for refractories was carried out so successfully that a wartime industry, established during World War I, was re-established on a large scale. As a result, in 1929-30 the Government provided funds for new laboratories.

The National Research Building on Sussex Street, Ottawa, was opened in 1932 and in 1939 construction was begun of the aerodynamics building on a 130-acre site adjacent to the Rockcliffe Airport of the Royal Canadian Air Force. Later, several other buildings were erected on this site, including separate laboratories for research on engines, gas and oil, hydraulics, structures, and wood-working and metal-working shops. Since then, these facilities have been enlarged and extended and new buildings have been provided for engineering, low-temperature studies and high-speed aerodynamics. In 1952, further construction included the applied chemistry laboratories, a thermodynamics building and initiation of work on offices and laboratories for the Division of Building Research, and an extensive laboratory building for the Division of Radio and Electrical Engineering, the latter being on a new 250-acre site on the opposite side of the road. A clover-leaf by-pass provides access from the highway to both sections of the Montreal Road site.

A Prairie Regional Laboratory, constructed on the campus of the University of Saskatchewan, has been in operation since June 1948. A Maritime Regional Laboratory, built on Dalhousie University campus at Halifax, N.S., was opened in June 1952.

The National Research Council consists of the President, two Vice-Presidents (Scientific), one Vice-President (Administration) and 17 other members, each of the latter group being appointed for a term of three years and chosen to represent industry, labour or research in one of the basic natural sciences. Many of the members are drawn from the science departments of Canadian universities.

The Council's scientific and engineering activities are organized in nine Divisions and two regional laboratories, each with its own Director. Four laboratory Divisions are concerned with fundamental and applied studies in the natural sciences: applied biology, pure and applied chemistry, and physics. Three others are devoted chiefly to engineering work—building research, radio and electrical engineering, and mechanical engineering which includes aeronautics and hydraulics. The Division of Medical Research has no laboratories of its own but awards grantsin-aid and fellowships tenable chiefly in the medical schools of Canadian universities.

In addition to its basic research functions, the Council operates an Information Service with a field staff of technical officers who assist the smaller industries across Canada by bringing their operating problems to the attention of the Council. With a trained research staff, using the extensive library facilities available to the Council, it is usually possible to provide the required information at very short notice.

The Council aids industry in two other important ways. A free and constant flow of personnel and information is maintained between the Council laboratories and industrial laboratories, the aim being to have Canadian industry use the Council's laboratories just as the units of a large company use their own laboratories as sources of scientific information and assistance. The Council also undertakes for any firm, under contract, research problems that cannot be solved by private